BLACK FRIDAY IS NOV 27 IN AMERICA The list of exclusive Record Store Day (RSD) Black Friday releases has been unveiled. The tenth annual Black Friday event, taking place at independent record stores across the country on Friday, November 27th, features hundreds of titles from artists across all genres. Since 2008, Record Store Day has championed the culture of the independent record store, offering music lovers the chance to pick up exclusive releases and support their local music retailer at the same time. Record Store Day’s Black Friday is no exception, and now — more than ever — is the perfect time to show love to our local independent retailers and our favorite musicians. While the day after Thanksgiving is the start of the biggest shopping season in the country, this special event subverts the mass consumerism model — instead, placing the focus on creating special limited edition releases from revered musical artists.

For the first time ever, Alice in Chains will release its second studio EP, SAP, as a stand-alone vinyl. SAP took a departure from the band’s heavy sound, focusing on acoustic guitar and marks the first time that guitarist Jerry Cantrell sang lead vocals on an Alice in Chains release. Side B on this RSD Black Friday exclusive includes an etching of the Alice in Chains logo

U2 will celebrate the 40th anniversary of its debut album Boy with a limited edition white vinyl pressing that includes an additional double sided poster plus lyrics/credit insert. Recorded at Windmill Lane Studios in Dublin and produced by Steve Lillywhite, it was originally released on October 20, 1980, and features the singles “A Day Without Me” and “I Will Follow” as well as live favorites “Out Of Control” and “The Electric Co.” This is an RSD First, which will be followed by a wide release.

As Jewel celebrates the 25th anniversary of her landmark 12x platinum debut, Pieces of You, she will release Live at the Inner Change across 2 LPs. The set features a previously unreleased live performance from 1994 that offers fans a chance to hear the GRAMMY Award-nominated singer-songwriter nearly two years before she became an international sensation at San Diego’s Inner Change coffeehouse. The set features remastered audio from the legendary engineer Bernie Grundman and includes early versions of such favorites as “Morning Song,” “I’m Sensitive,” and Jewel’s debut hit single, “Who Will Save Your Soul.” Limited to 3,000 copies worldwide, each individually numbered album includes a replica of the original show flyer, designed by Jewel herself.

Volbeat will issue Hokus Bonus, a vinyl-only compilation of “bonus tracks” from special and international editions of the band’s previous albums. Limited to 3,000 copies, the LP features brand new cover art from long-time Volbeat illustrator Karsten Sand and will be pressed on Magician’s Smoke colored vinyl. Hokus Bonus brings several songs such as “Slaytan,” “Under The Influence,” and “Immortal But Destructable” to the vinyl format for the first time ever, and includes early versions of fan-favorites “Evelyn,” “Black Rose,” and “Die To Live.” The album also marks the first time that the European smash hit single “For Evigt” will be commercially available on vinyl in North America.

The Chris Cornell Estate will release Cornell’s version of “Patience,” a Guns N’ Roses cover, along with Prince’s “Nothing Compares 2 U (Live on SiriusXM).” The tracks will be pressed on a white 7-inch single for RSD Black Friday 2020.

Lil Wayne will release a pair of CDs for RSD Black Friday 2020. Eleven years after its initial release, Lil Wayne’s No Ceilings mixtape is now available for the first time on CD. The album includes the bonus track “Kobe Bryant.” The rapper keeps his 2020 hot streak alive with the deluxe release of Tha Carter V on 2 CD. The updated release adds seven new, previously unreleased tracks and three previously released singles for this 33-song edition which includes new contributions from Raekwon, 2 Chainz, Gucci Mane and Post Malone. Originally released in 2018, this 12th studio album gave Lil Wayne his fourth No. 1 on the Billboard 200.

Alanis Morissette will issue Live at London’s O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, 2020 on double LP. The live project showcases Morissette’s acoustic 2020 concert, featuring every song from Jagged Little Pill, in celebration of the album’s 25th anniversary, plus three additional hits. The album is an RSD First release and limited to 3000 copies. Motörhead has two projects set for the event. Just in time for the holidays, Parlophone will reissue the band’s 1980 UK Christmas single of “Ace Of Spades.” The cover features the band in Santa suits and also includes a holiday ornament and never before released 2020 instrumental remix. Motörhead’s On Parole (Expanded & Remastered) will be released on RSD Black Friday in the US on 2 LP and CD. It will feature the original LP, plus the 1997 bonus tracks on vinyl as a bonus 12” EP. On Parole, originally recorded in 1975-1976, was intended to be Motörhead’s debut album. However, things didn’t quite work out that way and it was eventually released in December 1979 after the albums Overkill and Bomber came out earlier in the year. On Parole is the only album to feature the band’s original line-up of Lemmy on vocals and bass, Larry Wallis on guitar and vocals, and Lucas Fox on drums.

Willie Nelson will issue Live at Austin City Limits 1976 which aired as the premiere episode of the second season the following year. It found Nelson and The Family performing his classic album Red Headed Stranger front to back in an amazing performance and this RSD Black Friday edition marks its first audio release. Limited to 4000, it’s an RSD Black Friday exclusive. Nelson has appeared on Austin City Limits more than any other artist, performing on the pilot and 17 subsequent episodes of the Texas Public Television institution that debuted in 1976. It is known as the longest running music series in American television history as it’s still producing new episodes.

ABKCO will release an exclusive collector’s edition of The Rolling Stones’ Let It Bleed that is handcrafted on the press, using layers of color on top of one another to create a truly unique edition. Due to the nature of the manual process to pour each color onto the press by hand, each piece is unique in design and limited to 900 copies. Each one includes a hand-numbered Certificate of Authenticity. Let It Bleed was released in late 1969, charting at No. 1 in the UK and No. 3 in the US. It perfectly captures the ominous spirit of the times with “Gimme Shelter,” the opening track. The 2019 remaster has been engineered by eleven-time Grammy-winning mastering engineer Bob Ludwig.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *